Summer Jazz Workshop

July 19-25, 2020

Experience an Award-Winning Jazz Tradition! Our 26th annual Summer Jazz Workshop is now open to all ages, from 14 on up.

The Workshop offers a weeklong intensive and immersive experience for beginner, intermediate, and advanced instrumentalists or vocalists. In-depth knowledge of jazz or jazz improvisation is not required.

25th Annual SUMMER JAZZ WORKSHOP for high school and college students.

  • Seven intense days of improvisation and performance for students, age 14 and older
  • The option to commute or reside on campus; adult participants (19 and older) must commute*
  • Daily intensive 3-hour ensemble rehearsals; improvisation, arranging, and jazz history classes with outstanding faculty and staff
  • Private lessons and master classes
  • World-renowned jazz artists in nightly concerts and meet-the-artist sessions
  • An evening at a New York City jazz club
  • A final concert with students and resident faculty

*All participants, both commuters and residents, can take advantage of the University’s practice facilities, food court and cafeteria, and recreational activities.

Previous Performing Artists/Clinicians: Dr. Billy Taylor, Clark Terry, Mulgrew Miller, Jon Faddis, Slide Hampton, Vanessa Rubin, Lou Donaldson, David “Fathead” Newman, Curtis Fuller, Byron Stripling, Bob Mintzer, Paquito D’Rivera, Renee Rosnes, Chris Potter, Billy Drummond, Al Grey, Jimmy Heath, Frank Wess, Dafnis Prieto, and Dena DeRose.

The William Paterson Summer Jazz Workshop is sponsored by: the School of Continuing and Professional Education, the Department of Music, and the College of the Arts and Communication.

Other summer Music Programs include:

For more information and to register, go to the Summer Youth Programs website at

Register for the Summer Jazz Workshop Now!

You can live on campus or commute to the program. Note: participants 19 years old and older must commute. Please choose your application status below:


Rufus Reid

Artist in Residence
Learn More

Faculty & Staff

Timothy Newman

Resident Faculty:
Cecil Bridgewater
Charlie Dougherty
Steve La Spina
Marcus McLaurine
James Weidman