Distinguished Faculty

The Core Faculty in William Paterson University’s Psy.D. program have a diverse range of research interests and areas of specialization. They bring an extensive record of publications and presentations at national and international conference. The Core Faculty include Dr. Gregory Bartoszek, Dr. Michele Cascardi, Dr. Megan Chesin, Dr. Bruce Diamond, Dr. Jan Mohlman, and Dr. Aileen Torres.

Gregory Bartoszek, Ph.D.

B.A., University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, IL
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Edward Hines, Jr. VA Hospital, Hines, IL
Licensed Psychologist (NJ)

Professor Bartoszek’s research uses indirect assessment methods to investigate cognitive, psychophysiological, behavioral, and motivational aspects of emotions and affective psychopathology. His research interests include comorbidities among mental health problems, particularly depression and anxiety disorders, and mechanisms of change in evidence-based psychotherapies (e.g., CBT). His ultimate research goal is to inform conceptualization of psychiatric disorders and to improve psychological interventions.

E-mail: bartoszekg1@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall East, Room 2045f

Phone: (973)-720-2400

Cascardi Michele Cascardi, Ph.D.
A.B., Duke University, Durham, NC
M.A., Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Ph.D., Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, NY
Licensed Psychologist (NY, NJ, PA)

Dr. Cascardi’s research aims to improve measurement of adolescent relationship abuse from early adolescence into young adulthood. Her work also focuses on trauma, attachment and social  information processing theories that contribute to risk for aggressive behavior in romantic relationships. Ultimately, this work aims to inform intervention to prevent intimate partner violence.  Other related projects include prevention of sexual assault on college and high school campuses using bystander education. Dr. Cascardi provides consultation for forensic assessment in family and civil law.

E-mail: cascardim@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2051
Phone: (973) 720-3323

ChesinMegan Chesin, Ph.D. 
B.A., College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Virginia 
Ph.D., City University of New York, New York, New York 
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Columbia University, New York, New York 
Licensed Psychologist (NY)

Dr. Chesin specializes in the study of impulsive-aggressive behavior and third-wave behavioral treatments, such as Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy and Dialectical Behavior Therapy. Her research interests also include minority college student mental health, executive attention, and stress response, particularly as these factors or changes to them, relate to impulsive-aggressive behavior or explain treatment gains among impulsive-aggressive individuals.

E-mail: chesinm@wpunj.edu 
Office: Science Hall, Room 2050 
Phone: (973) 720-3393

Bruce J. Diamond, M.Ed., Ph.D.
B.A., The Ohio State University

M.Ed., Smith College
Ph.D., University of Manchester, UK
NIH Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation
Licensed Psychologist (NJ), Specialization in Neuropsychology

Dr. Diamond specializes in clinical neuropsychology, neurorehabilitation, and cognitive neuroscience. His research uses standardized and computer-based measures including brain imaging/autonomic techniques in order to examine memory, executive function, attention, information processing, and mood in clinical and healthy populations. Dr. Diamond is a practicing Neuropsychologist.
For additional information on research opportunities, click here

E-mail: diamondb@wpunj.edu
Office: Science Hall, Room 2462B
Phone: (973) 720-3400

Jan Mohlman, Ph.D. 
B.A., University of  California, Los Angeles,  CA 
M.S., University of Oregon, Eugene, OR
Ph.D., University of  Oregon, Eugene, OR 
Licensed Psychologist (NY)

Dr. Mohlman’s research and clinical work focus on the etiology, course and treatment of anxiety disorders across adulthood (particularly in older adults) and in investigating brain-behavior relationships in psychopathology. Dr. Mohlman’s work has been recognized at the national and international levels.


E-mail
mohlmanj@wpunj.edu 

Office: Science Hall, Room 2042 
Phone: (973) 720-3397

Aileen Torres, Ph.D.

B.A. Boston University, Boston, MA
M.A. Columbia University, New York, NY
Ph.D. Carlos Albizu University, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Licensed Psychologist (NJ, Puerto Rico).

Professor Torres specializes in multicultural competency, trauma-informed treatment, child abuse/neglect, cultural adaptation of recent immigrants, and ethnic identity development. She is a mentor for the American Psychological Association's Minority Fellowship Program, Training Advisory Committee and a Past-President of the Latino/a Psychological Association of NJ. She is endorsed as a Level IV Clinical Mentor by the NJ Association for Infant Mental Health. Dr. Torres is a practicing clinician conducting individual and family therapy, as well as immigration-related forensic psychological evaluations.

E-mail: torresa72@wpunj.edu

Office: Science Hall East, Room 2034
Phone: (973) 720-3391

 

Associated Faculty

The contributions made by an entire department are an important part of the success of any academic program. Our doctoral program is fortunate to be housed in a department that reflects the depth and breadth of interests and backgrounds of a diverse and talented faculty. Many of these faculty serve as Associated Faculty in the doctoral program.  Associated Faculty may teach in the Psy.D. program, serve as readers on Doctoral Dissertation projects, and/or supervise half-time research-focused Graduate Assistants. Associated Faculty include:

Megan Conrad, Ph.D.
David Freestone, Ph.D.
Michael Gordon, Ph.D.
Elizabeth Haines, Ph.D.
Christopher Holle, Ph.D.
Neil Kressel, Ph.D.
Amy Learmonth, Ph.D.
Natalie Lindemann, Ph.D.
Winnie Ma, Ph.D.
Robin Nemeroff, Ph.D.
Kathy Torsney, Ph.D.

A complete list of the psychology department's faculty is shown below.

Name PositionOfficePhoneEmail
Faculty & Staff
 
Dr. Janet Ahn   Science East 2045F x3394 ahnj9@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jane Austin   Science East 2033 x2472 austinj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Gregory Bartoszek   Science East 2045E x2400 bartoszekg1@wpunj.edu
Dr. Michele Cascardi Graduate Director of PsyD Program Science East 2051 x3323 cascardim@wpunj.edu
Dr. Megan Chesin   Science East 2054 x3393 chesinm@wpunj.edu
Dr. Megan Conrad Science East 2053 x3318 geerdtsm@wpunj.edu
Dr. Bruce Diamond   Science East 2062B x3400 diamondb@wpunj.edu
Dr. Justina Ekeocha Assistant Chair & Advisor in Chief Science East 2062A x3398 ekeochaj@wpunj.edu
Dr. David Freestone Science East 2052 x2643 freestoned@wpunj.edu 
Dr. Michael Gordon   Science East 2036 x3345 gordonm10@wpunj.edu
Dr. Elizabeth Haines   Science East 2038 x2500 hainese@wpunj.edu
Dr. Christian Holle   Science East 2035 x3401 hollec@wpunj.edu
Dr. William Indick Psychology Program Coordinator for WPU at Mercer Science East 2049 x3936 indickw@wpunj.edu
Dr. Gihane Jérémie-Brink   Science East 2055 x2614 jeremiebrinkg@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jamie Joseph   Science East 2049 x3402 josephj39@wpunj.edu
Dr. Neil J. Kressel   Science East 2039 x3389 kresseln@wpunj.edu
Dr. Amy Learmonth   Science East 2057 x2765 learmontha@wpunj.edu
Dr. Gloria Leventhal-Caulfield   Science East 2056 x3396 leventhalg@wpunj.edu
Dr. Pei-Wen Winnie Ma Graduate Director of MA Program Science East 2058 x3403 map@wpunj.edu
Dr. Katherine Makarec Department Chair Science East 2062C x3390 makareck@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jan Mohlman   Science East 2042 x3397 mohlmanj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Robin Nemeroff Science East 2060 x2249 nemeroffr@wpunj.edu
Dr. Natalie Obrecht Lindemann   Science East 2059 x2683 obrechtn@wpunj.edu
Dr. Sumithra Raghavan   Science East 2050 x3317 raghavans@wpunj.edu
Dr. SoYon Rim   Science East 2037 x2951 rims@wpunj.edu
Dr. Aileen Torres Science East 2034 x3391 torresa72@wpunj.edu
Dr. Kathleen Torsney   Science East 2032 x3395 torsneyk@wpunj.edu
   
Dr. Sherle Boone (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Judy Green (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Behnaz Pakizegi (faculty emeritus)
Mr. Barry Silverstein (faculty emeritus)
Dr. Daniel Sugarman (faculty emeritus)
Ms. Dolores Oertel Secretary Science East 2061 x2148 oerteld@wpunj.edu

Name PositionOfficePhoneEmail
PsyD Program Adjunct Faculty
 
Dr. Diana Boschulte boschulted@wpunj.edu
Dr. Julie DiMatteo dimatteoj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Jacqueline Gallios   galliosj@wpunj.edu
Dr. Caren Jordan   jordanc5@wpunj.edu
Dr. Kelly Kearns kearnsk3@wpunj.edu
Dr. Alex Keifer akiefer@gmail.com
Dr. Lynn Orr OrrL@wpunj.edu
Dr. Azara L. Santiago-Rivera santiagoal@merrimack.edu
Dr. Glen Sherman shermang@wpunj.edu
Dr. Diane Sorrentino sorrentinod3@wpunj.edu